Ressourcenorientiertes maschinelles Lernen

Prof. Dr.
Gernot
Fink

Gernot A. Fink erhielt 1991 das Diplom in Informatik von der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, und 1995 den Doktortitel (Dr.-Ing.) ebenfalls in Informatik von der Universität Bielefeld. Im Jahr 2002 erhielt er die venia legendi (Habilitation) in Angewandter Informatik von der Universität Bielefeld. Von 1991 bis 2005 war er in der Gruppe für Angewandte Informatik an der Technischen Fakultät der Universität Bielefeld tätig. Seit 2005 ist er Professor für Mustererkennung im Fachbereich Informatik an der TU Dortmund.

Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen in den Bereichen der statistischen Mustererkennung und des maschinellen Lernens mit Anwendungen in der Dokumentenbildanalyse und der maschinellen Wahrnehmung.

Dr. Fink hat mehr als 200 Arbeiten in diesen Bereichen veröffentlicht und ist Autor eines Lehrbuchs über Markov-Modell-basierte Techniken für Mustererkennungsprobleme. Er war General Chair der German Conference on Pattern Recognition (GCPR) 2019 und der International Conference on Frontiers in Handwriting Recognition (ICFHR) 2020.

Dr. Fink ist Senior Member des Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), der IEEE Signal Processing Society und der IEEE Computer Society. Außerdem ist er Mitglied der Deutschen Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Mustererkennung (DAGM) und der International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) sowie des European Laboratory for Learning and Intelligent Systems (ELLIS).

Resource-aware Machine Learning

Prof. Dr.
Gernot
Fink

Gernot A. Fink received the diploma in computer science from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Erlangen, Germany, in 1991 and the Ph.D. degree (Dr.-Ing.) also in computer science from Bielefeld University, Germany, in 1995. In 2002 he received the venia legendi (Habilitation) in Applied Computer Science from Bielefeld University. From 1991 to 2005 he was with the Applied Computer Science Group at the Faculty of Technology of Bielefeld University. Since 2005 he is professor for Pattern Recognition in the Department of Computer Science at TU Dortmund University, Dortmund, Germany.

His research interests lie in fields of statistical pattern recognition and machine learning with applications to document image analysis and machine perception.

Dr. Fink has published more than 200 papers in these fields and is the author of a textbook on Markov-model based techniques for pattern recognition problems. He has served as the General Chair of the German Conference on Pattern Recognition (GCPR) 2019 and the International Conference on Frontiers in Handwriting Recognition (ICFHR) 2020.

Dr. Fink is Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the IEEE Signal Processing Society, and the IEEE Computer Society. Additionally, he is a member of both the German (DAGM) and the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) as well as the European Laboratory for Learning and Intelligent Systems (ELLIS).