Veranstaltungen auf einen Blick

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über Veranstaltungen, die wir organisieren oder die Forschende des Lamarr-Instituts mitgestalten. Kommen Sie mit unseren Expert*innen bei Konferenzen, Messen oder Workshops ins Gespräch.

© Fraunhofer IAIS/Dirk Baumbach

Highlight Events

#Hack4BestCX: ML Hackathon

Datum: 01/03/2024
| Ort: Telekom Campus, Landgrabenweg 151
Ort: Telekom Campus, Landgrabenweg 151

Masterstudierende, Doktorand*innen und Post-Docs der Universität Bonn und Lamarr aufgepasst: Die Deutsche Telekom, das Transferzentrum enaCom und das Lamarr-Institut für Maschinelles Lernen und Künstliche Intelligenz suchen beim ML-Hackathon „#Hack4BestCX“ innovative und unkonventionelle Lösungen für die Customer Experience (CX).

In Zusammenarbeit mit den Data Scientists der Deutschen Telekom bearbeitest du (mit deinem Team) innerhalb eines Tages eine konkrete Herausforderung auf Basis echter Betriebs- und Leistungsdaten des DAX-Konzerns.  Die Veranstaltung findet am 1. März von 9 bis 21 Uhr auf dem Telekom-Campus in Bonn statt und hat zum Ziel, Vorhersagemodelle zu entwickeln, die Ausfälle oder Abweichungen in der Netzperformance der Deutschen Telekom möglichst genau erkennen.

Die Teilnahme ist kostenfrei. Anmeldungen zum #Hack4BestCX sind noch bis zum 25. Februar möglich.

2nd International Workshop on Responsible AI Engineering (RAIE’24)

Datum: 14/04/2024
- 20/04/2024
| Ort: Lissabon, Portugal
Ort: Lissabon, Portugal

Die vor kurzem erfolgte Veröffentlichung von ChatGPT, Bard und anderen Chatbots, die auf einem großen Sprachmodell (Large Language Model) basieren, hat weltweit große Aufmerksamkeit erregt. Der Blackbox-Charakter und die raschen Fortschritte in der KI haben erhebliche Bedenken hinsichtlich einer verantwortungsvollen KI geweckt. Es muss unbedingt sichergestellt werden, dass die KI-Systeme während ihres gesamten Lebenszyklus verantwortungsbewusst entwickelt und eingesetzt werden und dass die Menschen, die sie nutzen und sich auf sie verlassen sollen, ihnen vertrauen.

„Human-Centered Large Language Models“ bei ACL 2024

Datum: 12/08/2024
- 17/08/2024
| Ort: Bangkok, Thailand
Ort: Bangkok, Thailand

„Wie integrieren wir den menschlichen (persönlichen, sozialen, kulturellen, situativen) Kontext ethisch in Large Language Models (LLM)?“ – das ist die Frage, die sowohl die Akademie als auch die LLM-Industrie auf dem „Human-Centered Large Language Models Workshop“ 2024 diskutieren werden. Der Workshop findet im Rahmen des 62. Jahreskongresses der Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) vom 12. bis 18. August 2024 in Bangkok, Thailand, statt. Ein aufregendes interdisziplinäres Panel zu KI-Ausrichtung und verwandten Themen zielt darauf ab, einen Raum zu schaffen, in dem Forscher*innen aufstrebende Herausforderungen und Lösungen bei der Entwicklung von humanzentrierten Natural Language Processing (NLP)-Modellen präsentieren können. Lucie Flek, Professorin an der Universität Bonn, Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe Data Science and Language Technologies und Principal Investigator am Lamarr-Institut, ist eine der Organisator*innen der Veranstaltung.

AI24 – The Lamarr Conference

Datum: 04/09/2024
- 05/09/2024
| Ort: Dortmund
Ort: Dortmund

Save the Date!

AI24 – The Lamarr Conference featuring Industrial AI & Logistics

Weitere Informationen folgen in Kürze.

Kommende Veranstaltungen

AI4Schools: Workshop für Schülerinnen

Datum: 06/03/2024
| Ort: Fraunhofer IAIS
Ort: Fraunhofer IAIS

KI ist nicht nur für Jungen! Zwei spezielle eintägige Workshops für Schülerinnen finden am 24. Januar und am 6. März am Fraunhofer IAIS statt. Das Event wurde von der Initiative AI4Schools in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Lamarr-Institut im Rahmen der MINT-Projekttage des Rhein-Sieg-Kreises organisiert.

Über AI4Schools

AI4Schools ist ein Bildungsprojekt der Fraunhofer-Allianz für Big Data und Künstliche Intelligenz, der Roberta-Initiative des Fraunhofer IAIS und des Lamarr-Instituts. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, sowohl Schülerinnen und Schüler als auch Lehrkräfte mit der Anwendung Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) vertraut zu machen, indem es Workshops zu den wertvollen Kompetenzen und Kenntnissen rund um das Thema anbietet. Bettina Stark-Watzinger, die Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung, ist seit Mitte September die offizielle Schirmherrin.

Robotik Vortrag bei NVIDIA GTC 2024

Datum: 18/03/2024
- 21/03/2024
| Ort: San Jose, Kalifornien
Ort: San Jose, Kalifornien

Die NVIDIA GPU Technology Conference (GTC) ist eine der globalen KI-Konferenzen und bringt Entwickler*innen, Ingenieure, Forschende, Erfinder*innen und IT-Expert*innenen zusammen. Die diesjährige Konferenz startet am 18. März 2024 und wird durch eine Keynote von CEO Jensen Huang eröffnet. Im Fokus der GTC stehen Innovationen und Technologien in den Bereichen Künstliche Intelligenz, Computergrafik, Data Science, Maschinelles Lernen und autonome Maschinen. Neben zahlreichen Keynotes, Trainings und Ausstellungen werden auch Workshops zu verschiedenen Themen, darunter Robotik, angeboten. Julian Eßer, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Bereich KI & Autonome Systeme am Fraunhofer IML in Dortmund und Experte an der Schnittstelle von Robotik, Simulation & Reinforcement Learning, wird einen Vortrag mit dem Titel „Next-Generation Robotics: Training Agile Loco-Manipulation and Human-Machine Interaction“ auf der Veranstaltung halten. Die Keynote wird eine Live-Demonstration des evoBOT-Projekts beinhalten, eines bioinspirierten Roboters, der agile Fortbewegung und geschickte Objektmanipulation kombiniert und am Fraunhofer IML entwickelt wurde.

LREC-COLING 2024: Workshop zu Natural Language Processing und Knowledge Graphs Reasoning

Datum: 21/05/2024
| Ort: Turin, Italien
Ort: Turin, Italien

Die ELRA Language Resources Association und das International Committee on Computational Linguistics (ICCL) haben sich zusammengeschlossen, um die International Conference on Computational Linguistics, Language Resources and Evaluation (LREC-COLING 2024) zu organisieren. Forschende und Praktiker*innen aus den Bereichen Computerlinguistik, Sprache, Multimodalität und Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache werden die Möglichkeit haben, im Rahmen von Vorträgen und umfangreichen Postersitzungen Informationen und Ideen auszutauschen, ergänzt durch ein umfangreiches Rahmenprogramm. Die Konferenz findet vom 20. bis 25. Mai in Turin, Italien, statt und wird von insgesamt drei Tagen Workshops und Tutorien begleitet, die in den Tagen unmittelbar davor und danach stattfinden. Einer dieser Workshops („Bridging Neurons and Symbols for Natural Language Processing and Knowledge Graphs Reasoning“ am 21. Mai) wird von Rafet Sifa, Principal Investigator am Lamarr-Institut, Professor für Applied Machine Learning an der Universität Bonn und Leiter der Abteilung Media Engineering am Fraunhofer IAIS, mitorganisiert.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

EuroCIS Messe: Vorstellung MercuriusAI

Datum: 27/02/2024
- 29/02/2024
| Ort: Düsseldorf
Ort: Düsseldorf

Die EuroCIS ist Europas wichtigste Fachmesse für Retail Technology. Im Jahr 2024 wird die Messe vom 27. bis zum 29. Februar in Düsseldorf stattfinden. Auf der Konferenz präsentiert die Abteilung Enterprise Information Systems (EIS) vom Fraunhofer IAIS, einer Partnerinstitution des Lamarr Instituts, speziell für den Einzelhandel entwickelte KI-Lösungen und Ansätze. Insbesondere wird das Projekt „MercuriusAI“ vorgestellt, ein Assistent für personalisierte Marketinginhalte. Grundlage für die Entwicklung des Assistenten waren Ergebnisse zu großen Sprachmodellen aus dem Forschungsbereich Natural Language Processing (NLP) des Lamarr-Instituts. Das Projekt umfasst Innovationen in den Bereichen optimierte Warenverteilung und Lagerplanung, automatische Geschäftsfeld- und Unternehmensanalysen sowie Reports und personalisierte Gestaltung von Medieninhalten. MercuriusAI wird am Stand E61 in Halle 10 zu finden sein.

Workshop: Epistemological Issues of Machine Learning in Science

Datum: 27/02/2024
- 28/02/2024
| Ort: Chaudoire Pavillon, TU Dortmund
Ort: Chaudoire Pavillon, TU Dortmund

“Epistemological Issues of Machine Learning in Science“ lautet der Titel des bevorstehenden Workshops, der vom 27. bis 28. Februar an der TU Dortmund stattfindet. Dieser Workshop zielt darauf ab, die Integration des Maschinellen Lernens (ML), insbesondere des Deep Learning, in der Wissenschaft zu erforschen. Er bringt Wissenschaftler*innen und Philosoph*innen zusammen, um Schlüsselthemen zu diskutieren, darunter z.B. die Beziehung zwischen Vorhersage/Entdeckung und Erklärung/Verständnis im ML, Konzepte der Erklärbarkeit in eXplainable AI (XAI), und die Verbindung zwischen ML und traditionellen wissenschaftlichen Methoden. Die Veranstaltung markiert den Start der von der DFG geförderten Emmy-Noether-Gruppe UDNN und wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Lamarr-Institut durchgeführt, mit zusätzlicher Unterstützung der Fakultät Humanwissenschaften und Theologie an der TU Dortmund. Die Anmeldung ist kostenlos und bis 15. Januar möglich über die E-Mail udnn.fk14@tu-dortmund.de (bitte Name und Institution angeben).

BARsession

Datum: 27/02/2024
| Ort: domicil, Hansastraße 7-11, 44137 Dortmund
Ort: domicil, Hansastraße 7-11, 44137 Dortmund

BARsession ist eine vierteljährliche Live-Veranstaltung, organisiert von der Wirtschaftsförderung Dortmund, um zukünftige unternehmerische Themen zu diskutieren. Dortmunder Unternehmen, Selbstständige, Start-ups und Interessierte treffen sich in entspannter Atmosphäre zum Netzwerken und Informationsaustausch über neue Trends. Die erste Ausgabe 2024 mit dem Titel „Lernen, was wir nicht verstehen  – KI und ihre Anwendungen in der Logistik“ findet am 27. Februar um 18 Uhr im Jazzclub „domicil“ in Dortmund statt.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Michael ten Hompel, Direktor des Lamarr-Instituts und Fraunhofer IML, wird Hauptredner sein und einen Vortrag darüber halten, wie KI-Methoden in die Logistik integriert werden kann und welche Rolle KI im Management spielt. Neben den Erkenntnissen von ten Hompel werden sechs Session-Partner die BARsession begleiten: das Lamarr-Institut, KI.NRW, IHK zu Dortmund, European Digital Innovation Hub Dortmund (EDIH-DO), Centrum für Entrepreneurship & Transfer mit CONQUER – Marketing & Sales Consulting GmbH und Projekt sowie die Initiative to:DO.

Die Teilnahme an der BARsession ist kostenfrei. Eine Registrierung ist erforderlich via den Link. Die Veranstaltung ist auf Deutsch.

Workshop XAI4Sci: Explainable Machine Learning for Sciences

Datum: 26/02/2024
| Ort: Vancouver, Kanada
Ort: Vancouver, Kanada

Der XAI4Sci-Workshop für erklärbares Maschinelles Lernen für die Wissenschaft findet im Rahmen der 38. AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence am 26. Februar 2024 in Vancouver, Kanada, statt. Sein Ziel ist es, eine vielfältige Community von Forschenden und Praktiker*innen zusammenzubringen, die an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Maschinellem Lernen arbeiten, um den Bedarf an erklärbaren maschinellen Lernmodellen zur Unterstützung von Forschung und wissenschaftlicher Entdeckung zu diskutieren. Katharina Beckh, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Lamarr-Institut, wird auf der Veranstaltung sprechen. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich auf menschenorientiertes Maschinelles Lernen und sie arbeitet mit interaktiven Lernalgorithmen und erklärbaren Sprachmodellen.

Schnupper-Uni 2024: „Perspektive Math.-Nat!“

Datum: 06/02/2024
| Ort: Kreuzbergweg 28, Bonn
Ort: Kreuzbergweg 28, Bonn

Am 6. Februar findet an der Universität Bonn, Partnerinstitution des Lamarr Instituts, die 24. Ausgabe der „Schnupper-Uni“ mit dem Titel „Perspektive Math.-Nat!“ statt. Alle Schülerinnen der Klassen 10 bis 13 sind herzlich eingeladen, verschiedene MINT-Studiengänge wie Physik, Astronomie, Chemie, Geodäsie und Geoinformation, Informatik, Mathematik, Meteorologie und Geowissenschaften zu erkunden und mehr über deren Forschung in einem ganztägigen Programm der Fakultät für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften zu erfahren. Die Veranstaltung, die von etwa 9:00 bis 16:45 Uhr dauert, umfasst eine Begrüßungsrede der Zentralen Studienberatung und verschiedene Workshops. Online-Anmeldungen sind bis zum 21. Januar 2024 möglich, und eine frühzeitige Anmeldung wird aufgrund der hohen Nachfrage im Vorjahr empfohlen.

IEEE ICDM 2023

Datum: 01/12/2023
- 04/12/2023
| Ort: Shanghai, China
Ort: Shanghai, China

Die IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (ICDM) ist die weltweit bedeutendste Forschungskonferenz im Bereich Data Mining. Sie findet vom 1. bis 4. Dezember 2023 in Shanghai, China, statt. Die ICDM bietet ein internationales Forum für den Austausch innovativer und praxisorientierter Erfahrungen von Forscher*innen, Anwendungsentwickler*innen und Praktiker*innen aus einer Vielzahl von datenbezogenen Bereichen des Data Mining. Die behandelten Themen umfassen Algorithmen, Software, Systeme und Anwendungen. Durch die Förderung neuartiger, hochwertiger Forschungsergebnisse und innovativer Lösungen für anspruchsvolle Probleme im Bereich Data Mining strebt die Konferenz an, den Stand der Technik im Bereich Data Mining voranzutreiben. Die Wissenschaftler Matthias Jakobs und Amal Saadallah vom Lamarr-Institut haben das Paper „Explainable Adaptive Tree-based Model Selection for Time-Series Forecasting“ veröffentlicht und werden ihre Ergebnisse auf der Konferenz präsentieren.

Computer Science & Physics Meet-Up by Lamarr & B3D

Datum: 29/11/2023
- 01/12/2023
| Ort: Lamarr-Institut, TU Dortmund, Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Straße 25, 44227 Dortmund
Ort: Lamarr-Institut, TU Dortmund, Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Straße 25, 44227 Dortmund

Vom 29. November bis zum 1. Dezember 2023 kommen Informatiker*innen und Physiker*innen des Lamarr-Instituts und des NRW Clusters for Data-Intensive Radio Astronomy: Big Bang to Big Data (B3D) zusammen, um das Potenzial für gemeinsame Forschungskooperationen zu identifizieren. Das Event zielt darauf ab, die Bereiche Informatik (Maschinelles Lernen, KI) und Physik (Astrophysik, Teilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik, Radioastronomie) an drei Tagen mit Vorträgen, Posterpräsentationen und Diskussionen zusammenzubringen. Die Agenda umfasst neben Überblicksvorträgen zu den beiden Instituten und deren Forschung sowie Pitch-Talks ebenfalls einen Vortrag von Nobelpreisträger Prof. Dr. Reinhard Genzel über Galaxien und schwarze Löcher im Audimax der TU Dortmund (der Vortrag ist Teil der TU-Reihe Initialzündung). Das „CS & Physics Meet-Up“ findet im Lamarr-Gebäude an der Technischen Universität Dortmund statt, es wird jedoch auch einen Livestream für interessierte Zuhörer*innen geben.

Über Astrophysik am Lamarr-Institut

Mit dem interdisziplinären Forschungsfeld der Astrophysik unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Dr. Wolfgang Rhode ebnet das Lamarr-Institut den Weg für die Partnerschaft zwischen KI und Astroteilchenphysik und treibt innovative Forschung in diesem Bereich voran. Diese Zusammenlegung von Disziplinen markiert ein bedeutendes Kapitel in der Erforschung unseres Kosmos.

OpenGPT-X x appliedAI Konferenz

Datum: 29/11/2023
| Ort: AULA, Bildungscampus 6, 74076 Heilbronn
Ort: AULA, Bildungscampus 6, 74076 Heilbronn

„1 Jahr ‚anno ChatGPT‘: Wo steht die deutsche Wirtschaft beim Einsatz von generativer KI?“ ist das Thema der neuen OpenGPT-X x applied AI-Konferenz, die am 29. November 2023 stattfindet. Dr. Nicolas Flores-Herr, Teamleiter Conversational AI am Fraunhofer IAIS und Projektleiter von OpenGPT-X, wird die Veranstaltung moderieren. Das Treffen wird von 10:00 bis 17:00 Uhr in Heilbronn stattfinden, dem zukünftigen Standort des Artificial Intelligence Innovation Park (Ipai). Etwa 150 technikbegeisterte Branchenexpert*innen und Forscher*innen aus den Bereichen generative KI und Sprachmodellierung kommen zusammen, um Wissen, Erfahrungen und bewährte Praktiken beim Einsatz von generativer KI in industriellen Anwendungen zu teilen, die auf den deutschen und europäischen Markt zugeschnitten sind. Prof. Dr. Stefan Wrobel, Co-Direktor des Lamarr-Instituts, wird einen Vortrag zum Thema „Generative KI in Aktion: Strategien und Anwendungen für die deutsche Wirtschaft“ halten. Insgesamt bemüht sich die Konferenz, die Fähigkeit zur Entwicklung generativer KI in Europa zu stärken, indem sie aktuelle Bedürfnisse bewertet und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Expert*innen auf diesem Gebiet fördert. Zu den Schlüsselthemen gehören Mehrsprachigkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und Transparenz. Für alle, die nicht persönlich teilnehmen können, wird es einen Livestream der Veranstaltung geben. Die Konferenzsprache ist Deutsch.

All Hands Meeting der deutschen KI-Kompetenzzentren

Datum: 09/10/2023
- 10/10/2023
| Ort: Berlin
Ort: Berlin

Am 9. und 10. Oktober 2023 lädt das Berlin Institute for the Foundations of Learning and Data (BIFOLD) an der TU Berlin Wissenschaftler*innen der universitären KI-Kompetenzzentren (BIFOLD, ScaDS.AI Dresden/Leipzig, Lamarr-Institut, Tübingen AI Center und MCML) und des DFKI nach Berlin ein. Dort präsentieren und diskutieren sie aktuelle Ergebnisse ihrer Forschung. Ein KI-Symposium am zweiten Veranstaltungstag hat das Ziel, die führende KI-Spitzenforschung der Zentren einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit nahezubringen.

ECML PKDD 2023

Datum: 18/09/2023
- 22/09/2023
| Ort: Turin, Italien
Ort: Turin, Italien

Vom 18. bis 22. September 2023 findet die nächste „European Conference on Machine Learning and Principles and Practice of Knowledge Discovery in Databases“ (ECLM PKDD) in Turin, Italien, statt. Der Hauptveranstaltungsort der Konferenz ist die OGR (Officine Grandi Riparazioni), das Zentrum für Innovation und Kunst in Turin, ergänzt durch weitere moderne Räumlichkeiten am Politecnico di Torino für die Workshops und Tutorials. Dies ist die führende Konferenz für Maschinelles Lernen und Datenanalyse in Europa, mit über 20 Jahren erfolgreicher Veranstaltungen und Konferenzen auf dem gesamten Kontinent.

Events at a Glance

Here you find an overview of events that we organize or that researchers of the Lamarr Institute contribute to. Come and talk to our experts at conferences, trade fairs or workshops.

© Fraunhofer IAIS/Dirk Baumbach

Highlight events

#Hack4BestCX: ML Hackathon

Date: 01/03/2024
| Location: Telekom Campus, Landgrabenweg 151
Location: Telekom Campus, Landgrabenweg 151

Attention Master’s students, doctoral candidates and post-docs at the University of Bonn and Lamarr: Deutsche Telekom, the transfer center enaCom and the Lamarr Institute for Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence are looking for innovative and unconventional solutions for the customer experience (CX) at the ML hackathon “#Hack4BestCX”.

In cooperation with Deutsche Telekom’s data scientists, you (and your team) will work on a specific challenge within one day based on real operating and performance data from a DAX-listed company.  The event will take place on March 1 from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. on the Deutsche Telekom campus in Bonn and aims to develop predictive models that detect outages or deviations in Deutsche Telekom’s network performance as accurately as possible.

Participation is free of charge. #Hack4BestCX registration’s open until February 25.

2nd International Workshop on Responsible AI Engineering (RAIE’24)

Date: 14/04/2024
- 20/04/2024
| Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

The recent release of ChatGPT, Bard, and other large language model (LLM)-based chatbots has drawn huge global attention. The black box nature and the rapid advancements in AI have sparked significant concerns about responsible AI. It is crucial to ensure that the AI systems are developed and used responsibly throughout their entire lifecycle and trusted by humans who are expected to use them and rely on them.

“Human-Centered Large Language Models” at ACL 2024

Date: 12/08/2024
- 17/08/2024
| Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

“How do we include human (personal, social, cultural, situational) context, ethically, into Large Language Models (LLM)?”: that´s the question that both academia and the LLM industry will discuss at the “Human-Centered Large Language Models Workshop” 2024. The workshop will take place at the 62nd Annual Meeting of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) between the 12th and the 18th of August 2024 in Bangkok, Thailand. An exciting cross-disciplinary panel on AI alignment and related topics aims to create a space where researchers can present rising challenges and solutions in building human-centered Natual Learning Processing (NLP) models. Lucie Flek, professor at the University of Bonn, head of the Data Science and Language Technologies group and principal investigator of the Lamarr Institute, is one of the organizers of the event.

AI24 – The Lamarr Conference

Date: 04/09/2024
- 05/09/2024
| Location: Dortmund
Location: Dortmund

Save the Date!

AI24 – The Lamarr Conference featuring Industrial AI & Logistics

More information coming soon.

Upcoming events

AI4Schools: Workshop for female students

Date: 06/03/2024
| Location: Fraunhofer IAIS
Location: Fraunhofer IAIS

AI is not only for boys! Two special one-day workshops for female students will take place on January 24th and March 6th at Fraunhofer IAIS. They were organized by the Initiative AI4Schools in collaboration with Lamarr Institute as part of the STEM project days of the Rhein-Sieg district.

About AI4Schools

AI4Schools is an educational project by the Fraunhofer Alliance for Big Data and Artificial Intelligence, the Roberta Initiative of the Fraunhofer IAIS, and the Lamarr Institute. The project aims to familiarize both students and teachers with the use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) by offering workshops on the valuable competencies and knowledge around the theme. Bettina Stark-Watzinger, the Federal Minister for Education and Research, has been the official patron since mid-September.

Robotics keynote at NVIDIA GTC 2024

Date: 18/03/2024
- 21/03/2024
| Location: San Jose, California
Location: San Jose, California

The NVIDIA GPU Technology Conference (GTC) is one of the global AI conferences, bringing together developers, engineers, researchers, inventors, and IT experts. This year’s conference kicks off on March 18th, 2024, and will be opened with a keynote by CEO Jensen Huang. GTC focuses on innovations and technologies in the fields of Artificial Intelligence, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, and autonomous machines. In addition to numerous keynotes, training sessions and exhibitions, workshops on various topics, including robotics, will be offered. Julian Eßer, a research assistant in the AI & Autonomous Systems department at Fraunhofer IML in Dortmund and an expert on the interface of robotics, simulation & reinforcement learning will be giving a talk at the event on “Next-Generation Robotics: Training Agile Loco-Manipulation and Human-Machine Interaction”. The keynote will include a live demonstration of the evoBOT project, a bio-inspired robot combining agile locomotion and dexterous object manipulation developed by Fraunhofer IML.

 

LREC-COLING 2024: Workshop on Natural Language Processing and Knowledge Graphs Reasoning

Date: 21/05/2024
| Location: Turin, Italy
Location: Turin, Italy

The ELRA Language Resources Association and the International Committee on Computational Linguistics (ICCL) joined forces to organize the 2024 International Conference on Computational Linguistics, Language Resources and Evaluation (LREC-COLING 2024). Researchers and practitioners in computational linguistics, speech, multimodality, and natural language processing will be able to exchange information and ideas through both oral presentations and extensive poster sessions, complemented by a wide social program. The conference will take place in Torino, Italy between May 20th and 25th and it will be accompanied by a total of three days of workshops and tutorials held in the days immediately before and after. One of those workshops (“Bridging Neurons and Symbols for Natural Language Processing and Knowledge Graphs Reasoning” on May 21st) is co-organized by Rafet Sifa, Principal Investigator at the Lamarr Institute, Professor of Applied Machine Learning at the University of Bonn and head of the Media Engineering department at Fraunhofer IAIS.

Past events

EuroCIS fair: Presentation MercuriusAI

Date: 27/02/2024
- 29/02/2024
| Location: Düsseldorf
Location: Düsseldorf

The EuroCIS is Europe’s leading trade fair for Retail Technology. The 2024 edition will take place in Düsseldorf from February 27th to 29th. At the conference, the Enterprise Information Systems (EIS) department of Fraunhofer IAIS, a partner institution of the Lamarr Institute, will showcase AI solutions and approaches specifically developed for the retail sector. In particular, the “MercuriusAI” project, an assistant for personalized marketing content, will be presented. The development of the assistant was based on results relating to large language models from the Lamarr Institute’s Natural Language Processing (NLP) research area. The project entails innovations in optimized product distribution and warehouse planning, automatic business area and company analyses, as well as reports and personalized design of media content. MercuriusAI can be found at Booth E61 in Hall 10.

Workshop: Epistemological Issues of Machine Learning in Science

Date: 27/02/2024
- 28/02/2024
| Location: Chaudoire Pavillon, TU Dortmund University
Location: Chaudoire Pavillon, TU Dortmund University

“Epistemological Issues of Machine Learning in Science” is the title of the upcoming workshop taking place at the TU Dortmund University between the 27th and the 28th of February. This workshop intends to explore the integration of Machine Learning (ML), especially Deep Learning, in science. It brings together scientists and philosophers to discuss key issues e.g., the relationship between prediction/discovery and explanation/understanding in ML, concepts of explanation in eXplainable AI (XAI) and the connection between ML and traditional scientific methods. The event marks the launch of the DFG-funded Emmy Noether Group UDNN and is co-organized with the Lamarr Institute, with co-funding from the Department for Humanities and Theology at TU Dortmund University. Registration is free and possible until 15th of January via the e-mail udnn.fk14@tu-dortmund.de (please include name and institution).

BARsession

Date: 27/02/2024
| Location: domicil, Hansastraße 7-11, 44137 Dortmund
Location: domicil, Hansastraße 7-11, 44137 Dortmund

BARsession is a quarterly live event organized by Wirtschaftsförderung Dortmund to discuss future entrepreneurial topics. Dortmund businesses, self-employed individuals, startups, and interested parties gather to network and stay informed. The first edition of 2024, titled “Learning what we don’t understand – AI and its applications in logistics”, takes place on February 27th at 6 pm in Dortmund’s jazz club “domicil.”

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Michael ten Hompel, director of the Lamarr Institute and Fraunhofer IML, will be the main speaker, discussing how AI is integrated into logistics and its daily management role. Alongside ten Hompel, six session partners will join BARsession, including the Lamarr Institute, KI.NRW, IHK zu Dortmund, European Digital Innovation Hub Dortmund (EDIH-DO), Centrum für Entrepreneurship & Transfer with CONQUER – Marketing & Sales Consulting GmbH, and Projekt, along with the initiative to:DO.

Participation is free of charge. Registration is requiered via the link. The event will be held in German.

Workshop XAI4Sci: Explainable Machine Learning for Sciences

Date: 26/02/2024
| Location: Vancouver, Canada
Location: Vancouver, Canada

The XAI4Sci workshop for Explainable Machine Learning for Sciences will take place as a part of the 38th AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence on the 26th of February 2024 in Vancouver, Canada. Its goal is to bring together a diverse community of researchers and practitioners working at the interface of science and Machine Learning to discuss the needs for explainable Machine Learning models in support of science and scientific discovery. Katharina Beckh, research associate at the Lamarr Institute, will be speaking at the event. Her research focuses on human-oriented Machine Learning and she works with interactive learning algorithms and explainable language models.

Schnupper-Uni 2024: “Perspectives in STEM!”

Date: 06/02/2024
| Location: Kreuzbergweg 28, Bonn
Location: Kreuzbergweg 28, Bonn

On February 6th, the 24th edition of the “Schnupper-Uni” entitled “Perspective Math.-Nat!” will take place at the University of Bonn, partner institution from the Lamarr Institute. All female students from grades 10 to 13 are invited to explore different STEM programs — such as Physics, Astronomy, Chemistry, Geodesy and Geoinformation, Computer Science, Mathematics, Meteorology, Geography— and learn about their research in a full-day program organized by the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences. The event, which will occur from around 9:00 AM to 4:45 PM, includes a welcome talk by the Central Academic Advising and multiple workshops. Online registrations are open until January 21, 2024, and early sign-up is encouraged due to high demand from the previous year.

IEEE ICDM 2023

Date: 01/12/2023
- 04/12/2023
| Location: Shanghai, China
Location: Shanghai, China

The IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (ICDM) is the world’s most prominent research conference in data mining. It will take place between the 1st and the 4th of December 2023 in Shanghai, China. The ICDM provides an international forum for an exchange of innovative and practical development experiences from researchers, application developers, and practitioners from a wide range of data mining related areas. Topics covered include algorithms, software, systems and applications. By promoting novel, high-quality research findings, and innovative solutions to challenging data mining problems, the conference seeks to advance the state-of-the-art in data mining. Lamarr scientists Matthias Jakobs and Amal Saadallah have published the paper “Explainable Adaptive Tree-based Model Selection for Time-Series Forecasting” and are going to present their findings at the conference.

Computer Science & Physics Meet-Up by Lamarr & B3D

Date: 29/11/2023
- 01/12/2023
| Location: Lamarr Institute, TU Dortmund University
Location: Lamarr Institute, TU Dortmund University

From November 29 to December 1, 2023, computer scientists and physicists from the Lamarr Institute and the NRW Cluster for Data-Intensive Radio Astronomy: Big Bang to Big Data (B3D) will come together to identify the potential for joint research collaborations. The event aims to bring together the fields of computer science (Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence) and physics (astrophysics, particle and astroparticle physics, radio astronomy) over three days with talks, poster presentations and discussions. The agenda includes overview lectures on the two institutes and their research as well as pitch talks and a lecture by Nobel Prize winner Prof. Dr. Reinhard Genzel on galaxies and black holes in the Audimax of TU Dortmund University (the lecture is part of the TU series Initialzündung). The “CS & Physics Meet-Up” will take place in the Lamarr Building at TU Dortmund University, but there will also be a livestream for interested listeners.

About Astrophysics at Lamarr Institute

With the interdisciplinary research field of Astrophysics led by Prof. Dr. Dr. Wolfgang Rhode, the Lamarr Institute is pioneering the partnership between AI and Astroparticle Physics and driving innovative research in this area. This merging of disciplines marks a significant chapter in the exploration of our cosmos.

OpenGPT-X x appliedAI Conference

Date: 29/11/2023
| Location: AULA, Bildungscampus 6, 74076 Heilbronn
Location: AULA, Bildungscampus 6, 74076 Heilbronn

“1 year ‘anno ChatGPT‘: Where does the German economy stand in the use of generative AI?” is the theme of the new OpenGPT-X x appliedAI conference taking place on the 29th of November 2023. Dr. Nicolas Flores-Herr, team leader of Conversational AI at Fraunhofer IAIS and project leader of OpenGPT-X, will moderate the event. The meeting will happen from 10am to 5pm in Heilbronn, the future home of the Artificial Intelligence Innovation Park (Ipai). Around 150 tech-savvy industry experts and researchers from the fields of generative AI and language modeling are coming together to share knowledge, experiences and best practices on the use of generative AI in industrial applications, tailored to the German and European market. Prof. Dr. Stefan Wrobel, Co-Director of the Lamarr Institute, will give a presentation on “Generative AI in action: Strategies and applications for the German economy”. Overall, the conference endeavors to strengthen the ability to develop generative AI in Europe by assessing current needs and facilitating collaboration between experts in the field. Key topics to be discussed include multilingualism, reliability, and transparency. For all those who cannot attend in person, there will be a livestream of the event. The conference language is German.

All Hands Meeting of the German AI Centers

Date: 09/10/2023
- 10/10/2023
| Location: Berlin
Location: Berlin

On October 9 and 10, 2023, the Berlin Institute for the Foundations of Learning and Data (BIFOLD) at TU Berlin invites scientists from the university AI competence centers (BIFOLD, ScaDS.AI Dresden/Leipzig, Lamarr Institute, Tübingen AI Center and MCML) as well as the DFKI to Berlin. There they present and discuss current results of their research. An AI symposium on the second day of the event aims to present the centers’ leading AI research to an interested public.

ECML PKDD 2023

Date: 18/09/2023
- 22/09/2023
| Location: Turin, Italy
Location: Turin, Italy

From the 18th to the 22rd of September 2023, the next European Conference on Machine Learning and Principles and Practice of Knowledge Discovery in Databases will be held in Turin, Italy. The conference main venue is OGR (Officine Grandi Riparazioni), the hub of innovation and art in Turin, supported by a group of modern spaces at Politecnico di Torino for the workshops and tutorials days. This is Europe’s top machine learning and data mining conference, with over 20 years of successful events and conferences across the continent.